Five members have been appointed to the board of directors at Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Nebraska (BCBSNE). Each will serve a three-year term.

Anthony Goins, former chief operating officer and executive vice president of World’s Foremost Bank’s Cabela’s Club Visa and vice president of Cabela’s Retail Corporation, joined the board. Goins has extensive expertise in customer-centric strategies and risk management. With his addition, the BCBSNE board stands at 13 members.

Four board members were re-appointed:

• Leslie Andersen, President and CEO Bank of Bennington, Bennington
• George Beattie, Board Chair, past President and CEO Nebraska Bankers Association, Lincoln
• Dr. John Mitchell, II, gastroenterologist at Midwest Gastrointestinal Associates, Omaha
• Robert Synowicki, Jr., Omaha

“Our board members are actively involved in setting the course for Blue Cross and navigating a competitive health care environment,” Steve Grandfield, BCBSNE president and chief executive officer said. “Their expertise provides a unique Nebraska perspective on the needs of our members.”

Two board members, Dr. Allen Dvorak and Richard Bell, retired from the BCBSNE board.

BCBSNE’s board of directors also includes: Karen Aman, Blair; Lyndee Black, Lincoln; Dan Ernst, Lincoln; Steven Grandfield, Omaha; Keith Olsen, Grant; Anthony Raimondo Jr., Columbus; Jeffrey Schumacher, Lincoln; and Dr. Todd Sorensen, Scottsbluff.